The NLMA Annual General Meeting (AGM) is held each June. Board members and officers are elected annually through a general election. NLMA members are represented at the national level through the CMA Board of Directors.

The Professional Association of Residents of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Medical Students’ Society at Memorial University each have one non-voting member on the NLMA Board of Directors.


Enacted pursuant to the Corporations Act, the Medical Act, 2011, and the Articles of Association of the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association

Board of Directors

Front Row (L-R): Dr. Lauren Winsor (Former Resident Rep, replaced by Dr. Ali Beydoun September 2023), Board Chair Dr. Tracey Bridger, Past-President Dr. Kris Luscombe, Dr. Heather O’Dea. Back Row (L-R): Dr. David Harvey, Dr. David Metcalfe, President Dr. Gerard Farrell, Dr. Bolu Ogunyemi, Medical Student Rep Alexander Darmonkow (Former Medical Student Rep, replaced by Tiffany Furneaux November 2023) , Dr. Desmond Whalen. Missing from Photo: President-Elect Dr. Steve Major, Dr. David Flusk.

Officers of the Board

of 1

Directors At-Large

of 1


of 1

Dr. Gerard Farrell, MD


Dr. Gerard Farrell has been taking care of cancer patients in St. John’s for more than 25 years. He began this career as a general practitioner in oncology at the H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Centre, and now offers After Cancer Care to patients who have completed their care at HBMCC. He is currently involved in curriculum development with Memorial’s Office of Professional Education and Development. He has also been involved in postgraduate medical education and has supervised graduate students in the faculties of Medicine, Computer Science, and Pharmacy. On June 3, 2023, Dr. Farrell was installed as the 98th President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association.

Dr. Kris Luscombe, MD, FRCPC


Dr. Kris Luscombe has been practising psychiatry in Grand Falls-Windsor for almost 20 years. He was recently the Regional Chief of Psychiatry for Central Health, and is currently the Central Health Regional Physician Lead for Opiate Dependence Services. He has also been an assistant professor of psychiatry for Memorial University’s Rural Medical Education Network since 2009. On June 18, 2022, Dr. Luscombe was installed as the 97th President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association.


2023 Nominating Committee

Dr. Lynette Powell (Chair)

Standing Committees

Governance Committee
Finance & Administration Committee
External Relations Committee
Negotiations Committee

Sub-Committees, Ad Hoc Committees, & Advisory Councils 

Physician Wellness Advisory Council
Rural Physicians Advisory Council
IMG Advisory Council
Health Information Committee
Physician Services Liaison Committee (PSLC)
Nominating Committee
Family Practice Renewal Committee
CPSNL-NLMA Joint Committee
WorkplaceNL Committee
EMR Management Committee
EMR Data Governance Advisory Committee
EMR Clinical Advisory Committee

NLMA Representatives
on CMA Committees/Forums

Dr. Paula Cashin – Board of Directors
Dr. Lynn Dwyer  – Committee on Nominations
Dr. Bolu Ogunyemi – Governance Committee

Strategic Plan