Notices & Advisories

Upcoming Events



Annual General Meeting


The NLMA annual general meeting (AGM) is held each June and provides members with the opportunity to attend in-depth sessions on issues that matter to physicians and to bring forward and debate resolutions that help guide the Board of Directors to set policy.

The AGM also provides members with the opportunity to receive reports from the executive director, the president, committees, and the auditor's report. The AGM includes an NLMA and Canadian Medical Association (CMA) honorary life membership awards ceremony and installation of the incoming president. View the NLMA Annual Report on the Annual Reports page. 



Board of Directors  


Board members and officers are elected annually at the AGM. NLMA members are represented at the national level through the CMA Board of Directors.

The Professional Association of Residents of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Medical Students' Society at Memorial University each have one non-voting member on the NLMA Board of Directors.

President - Dr. Kristopher Luscombe

Past President - Dr. Susan MacDonald

President-Elect - Dr. Gerard Farrell 


Directors At-Large

Dr. David Flusk

Dr. David Harvey
Dr. David Metcalfe
Dr. Heather O'Dea
Dr. Bolu Ogunyemi 
Dr. Desmond Whalen 




Board Chair - Dr. Tracey Bridger 

Resident Rep - Dr. Lauren Winsor

Medical Student Rep - Alexander Darmonkow






Organizational Chart (PDF)



2022 Nominating Committee

Dr. Charlene Fitzgerald (Chair)

Regional representatives to be determined

Standing Committees 

Governance Committee

Finance & Administration Committee

External Relations Committee

Negotiations Committee


Advisory Councils 

Physician Wellness Advisory Council

Rural Physicians Advisory Council

IMG Advisory Council

Health Information Technology

Physician Services Liaison Committee (PSLC)


Ad Hoc Committees  

NLMA-CPSNL Joint Committee

Joint Management Committee - GNL, RHA, NLMA

MSA, MAC, Clinical Chiefs, Councils, NLCHI, NGOs, etc.  


NLMA Representatives on CMA Committees/Forums

Dr. Paula Kennedy – Board of Directors

Dr. Lynn Dwyer  – Committee on Nominations





Executive Director - Robert Thompson
Associate Executive Director - Lynn Barter
Director, Administration & Membership - J. David Mitchell
Membership Administrator - Suzan Izquierdo
Administrative Assistant - Donna Osmond
Director, Communications & Public Affairs - Jonathan Carpenter

Communications Coordinator - Anna Delaney

Director, Health Policy & Economics - Scott Brown

Senior Compensation & Benefits Analyst - Tamie L. White

Health Policy Analyst & Legal Counsel - Aimee Letto

Medical Director, NLMA Physician Care Network - Dr. Kris Luscombe
Clinical Stabilization Fund Project Coordinator - Jean Cook

Senior Advisor, Health Information - Lucy McDonald




























President - Dr. Kris Luscombe, MD, FRCPC


Dr. Kris Luscombe has been practising psychiatry in Grand Falls-Windsor for almost 20 years. He was recently the Regional Chief of Psychiatry for Central Health, and is currently the Central Health Regional Physician Lead for Opiate Dependence Services. He has also been an assistant professor of psychiatry for Memorial University’s Rural Medical Education Network since 2009. On June 18, 2022, Dr. Luscombe was installed as the 97th President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association. (Full Bio)



Past-President - Dr. Susan MacDonald, MD, CCFP PC FCFP

Dr. Susan MacDonald has been practising Palliative Medicine in St. John’s for more than 20 years. She is a teacher, leader, researcher and clinician renowned for her progressive dedication to providing care for the terminally ill. She has made it her life’s work and purpose to garner respect, understanding and compassion for the dying. On June 5, 2021, Dr. MacDonald was installed as the 96th President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association. (Full Bio)